SolarIndustry.ro / Weekly Briefing / Romania solar, storage and power market

The daylight discount narrowed. Execution moved deeper.

Week ended 16 Sep 2026. Romanian day-ahead solar-hour pricing improved materially from the previous review, but the physical system did not become less dependent on time. Retained Transelectrica observations still show multi-gigawatt reversals from midday export to evening import, while ANRE's newly published connection report shows capital moving further down the permission stack. The week's corporate evidence points in the same direction: storage contracts, high-voltage connection infrastructure, self-consumption projects and flexible-demand pricing are becoming execution tools rather than optional additions.

01 / Executive position

A better price week did not remove the need for flexibility.

The week's central distinction is between a cyclical improvement in daylight pricing and a structural requirement to control when and where energy reaches the system.

The seven-day PZU base-price mean rose to 992.62 RON/MWh, while the unweighted 08:00–17:00 price proxy rose faster to 683.76 RON/MWh. Its ratio to base recovered from 52.3% in the prior review to 68.9%, and no PT15 interval cleared below zero. That is meaningful relief, not evidence that solar cannibalisation has disappeared. On 16 Sep, retained system observations moved from 1,466 MW net export at 12:00 to 1,942 MW net import at 19:00. Meanwhile ANRE's deepest tracked connection-maturity layer increased 32.7% month on month even as headline ATR capacity was almost unchanged. The decision implication is direct: underwrite Romanian PV on hourly revenue shape, connection maturity and controllability—not annual yield or headline pipeline MW alone.

Analyst judgement. The previous issue established flexibility as a capital-allocation theme. This issue advances the thesis: the market is beginning to differentiate execution quality. Connection rights that progress through construction and authorisation, storage with a defined operating role, and demand that can absorb solar-rich hours deserve more weight than undifferentiated pipeline. The contrary evidence is important: daylight pricing improved substantially this week. Any underwriting model that assumes continuously worsening solar-hour prices would also be too simplistic. [S03]

02 / Market snapshot / retained PZU evidence

Daylight prices recovered faster than the market base.

The 08:00–17:00 series is an unweighted arithmetic price proxy built from retained PZU observations. It is intentionally not labelled solar capture price because it is not generation weighted. [S01] [S02]

PZU / 10–16 Sep 2026 delivery / seven daily references Unit / RON per MWh
Seven-day base mean 992.62 RON/MWh · derived arithmetic mean of daily PZU base values
08:00–17:00 proxy mean 683.76 RON/MWh · unweighted daylight price proxy, not capture price
Proxy / base ratio 68.9% Derived · +16.6 percentage points versus 3–9 Sep
Negative PT15 intervals 0 Lowest retained PT15: 3.30 RON/MWh on 12 Sep
Daily PZU base versus daylight price proxy 10–16 Sep 2026
PZU base price and unweighted daylight price proxy, 10–16 September 2026

Hover, touch or keyboard-focus each date for exact values. Yellow = PZU base. Dashed paper line = unweighted 08:00–17:00 proxy. Source: retained SolarIndustry.ro / OPCOM references. Daily values are not weighted by traded volume. [S01]

A better solar week is not the same as a structurally solved solar shape. The correct update is that daylight cannibalisation was less severe than in the previous review—not that it disappeared.

The price recovery was real, but uneven.

The prior 3–9 Sep review contained 16 negative PT15 intervals, all on 6 Sep, and an unweighted daylight proxy equal to only 52.3% of the seven-day base-price mean. During 10–16 Sep, the ratio recovered to 68.9% and no retained PT15 interval was negative. The daylight proxy rose 53.5% week on week while the base mean rose 16.6%. That combination materially improves the short-term revenue environment for an unhedged solar producer relative to the preceding week. [S03]

It did not become uniform. The deepest daily daylight discount occurred on 12 Sep, when the proxy was 398.19 RON/MWh against an 814.35 RON/MWh base, a 51.1% discount. On 16 Sep the proxy was 498.69 RON/MWh against an 889.30 RON/MWh base, a 43.9% discount. By contrast, 11 Sep produced only an 11.6% discount. Revenue shape remains weather-, load- and system-dependent; a seven-day average can conceal economically important single-day dispersion. [S02]

Definition boundary / capture price
True solar capture price = Σ(pricet × solar generationt) / Σ(solar generationt)

The briefing does not have one temporally harmonised national series that can responsibly produce that metric for every PZU settlement interval. The 08:00–17:00 figure is therefore a price-shape proxy only. It does not weight prices by photovoltaic MWh, does not identify curtailment, and does not represent any individual plant's realised price.

This distinction matters commercially. A plant whose generation is concentrated around the cheapest intervals can capture below the simple daylight mean; a plant with west-oriented production, storage, controllable export or a shaped offtake contract can capture above it. The correct model is asset-specific hourly or sub-hourly cash flow, not a blanket national “solar price”.

Show retained 10–16 Sep PZU data used in the exhibit
Delivery day PZU base 08:00–17:00 proxy Proxy / base Lowest PT15 Cleared volume
10 Sep1,063.38 RON/MWh803.12 RON/MWh75.5%530.68 RON/MWh36,479 MWh
11 Sep1,095.28 RON/MWh968.35 RON/MWh88.4%864.46 RON/MWh35,058 MWh
12 Sep814.35 RON/MWh398.19 RON/MWh48.9%3.30 RON/MWh36,685 MWh
13 Sep840.83 RON/MWh541.87 RON/MWh64.4%376.50 RON/MWh39,901 MWh
14 Sep1,248.82 RON/MWh895.58 RON/MWh71.7%555.75 RON/MWh43,888 MWh
15 Sep996.37 RON/MWh680.50 RON/MWh68.3%228.46 RON/MWh37,958 MWh
16 Sep889.30 RON/MWh498.69 RON/MWh56.1%58.41 RON/MWh39,022 MWh
03 / Week in review

The week's announcements were mostly about making projects dispatchable, connectable or self-consuming.

The timeline separates commissioned assets, awarded contracts, procurement agreements, testing stages and announced projects. They are not added together as if they represented one homogeneous operating fleet.

Hidroelectrica awards 64 MW / 434.76 MWh Porțile de Fier II storage contract.

Hidroelectrica disclosed a RON 296.8 million contract awarded to Synergy Construct, with approximately RON 43.4 million financed through the Modernisation Fund. The nameplate energy-to-power ratio is 6.79 hours, unusually long relative to the two-hour configuration common in many merchant BESS announcements.

Interpretation: the specification reinforces that “battery storage” is not one standard product. Long-duration operating objectives around a hydro portfolio differ from a short-cycle solar-shifting asset.

PPC starts passing solar-hour abundance through to small-business demand.

PPC Energie launched Ore Smart PRO for smart-meter customers with estimated annual consumption below 200,000 kWh. The reduced-price periods include 11:00–14:59 on working days from March through October, explicitly coinciding with high photovoltaic production.

Interpretation: this is a demand-side response to the same price shape visible in PZU. It is better described as a fixed time-of-use product than as wholesale-indexed real-time pricing: the commercial signal is to move consumption into solar-rich hours.

OMV Petrom contracts 20 MW / 40 MWh at Ișalnița.

Simtel will design and construct a two-hour nameplate BESS for OMV Petrom's approximately 89 MWp solar park at Ișalnița. The disclosed construction period is around seven months. The solar project is expected to produce roughly 130 GWh per year.

Interpretation: this is a defined co-location project with power, energy and EPC scope disclosed—not simply an aspirational storage pipeline.

Dacia launches 8.5 MW Mioveni self-consumption project.

Dacia disclosed an 8.5 MW photovoltaic project designed to produce approximately 9,094 MWh per year, all for on-site consumption, equivalent to about 8% of the Mioveni plant's electricity requirement. Disclosed investment is RON 58.3 million including VAT, with almost RON 10 million of grant support.

Maturity: launched / planned, not treated here as operational generation.

AFIR publishes the operating rules behind €650 million of public-sector solar and storage funding.

The €500 million solar-plus-integrated-storage line can fund up to €10 million per beneficiary and up to 100% of eligible costs, while the separate €150 million storage line caps support at €200,000/MWh installed and €10 million per beneficiary. Applications are scheduled to open on 28 Sep.

Interpretation: the funding theme moved from headline budget to procurement parameters. Equipment and EPC teams now have an executable cost ceiling and timetable.

Casa Verde Baterii reaches final-guide stage.

The Ministry of Environment confirmed a RON 400 million programme budget. The minimum eligible battery size was reduced from 12 kWh to 10 kWh; the eligible-cost standard rose to 1,500 RON/kWh including VAT; the minimum cycling requirement increased to 5,000 cycles. Support is capped at 75% of project cost and RON 15,000 per beneficiary.

Important: selection is score based, including own contribution and installed capacity; it is not simply a first-come-first-served queue.

PPC's >600 MW Arad cluster advances through high-voltage connection infrastructure.

The Nădab package covers two 400/110 kV GIS substations, two underground 400 kV lines and extension of the Transelectrica 400 kV AIS substation at Chișineu-Criș. Reported contract value is approximately €144.6 million.

Continuity check: GEK TERNA's earlier reporting already identified it as provisional contractor in November 2025. The relevant update is progression into signed/current execution, not discovery of a wholly new 600 MW pipeline this week.

NEPI Rockcastle's second Romanian solar asset enters testing.

Secondary reporting places the Ariceștii Rahtivani project in the testing period following completion and grid connection, with maximum exported capacity reported at 48.825 MW.

Maturity discipline: testing is not treated as equivalent to established commercial operation.

ANRE's new queue report shows deeper maturity without headline queue growth.

At 1 Aug, projects ≥1 MW with valid ATRs represented 113,512 MW of approved maximum export across 1,622 projects. That was almost unchanged in MW from 1 Jul. Capacity with a connection contract, however, rose 7.9%; the connection-contract-plus-building-permit layer rose 7.3%; and the deepest tracked layer including ANRE establishment authorisation rose 32.7% to 14,800 MW.

Interpretation: this is more decision-useful than another headline queue record. Some projects are migrating toward execution.

Nofar announces commercial operation of Iepurești and Ghimpați, more than 315 MWp combined.

The two Giurgiu projects comprise 169.4 MWp at Iepurești and 146 MWp at Ghimpați. Company-originated communication reproduced by The Diplomat states that certification tests and approvals were completed. Planned co-located storage across the two sites is reported at 280 MW / 860 MWh.

Evidence boundary: this briefing records company-announced commercial operation; it does not independently elevate the related “largest in Romania” superlative without a consistent national operating registry comparison at the cut-off.

Nofar separately discloses binding supply agreements for 1.09 GWh of usable battery energy.

A Tel Aviv Stock Exchange filing covers 650 MWh at Valter Mărăcineanu and 440 MWh at Corbii Mari, with aggregate consideration of roughly €103 million before VAT. Deliveries are expected to begin during 2027.

Do not conflate the projects: this 1.09 GWh procurement is separate from the planned 860 MWh associated with Iepurești and Ghimpați. It is contracted future equipment, not commissioned storage.

LONGi and Enexus sign for 50 MWh of BESS at Titu projects—but the two sites sit at different maturity stages.

LONGi describes 15 MWh at the 20 MWp Titu 1 project and 35 MWh at the 35 MW Titu 3 project. Titu 1 is described as photovoltaic construction completed but awaiting grid connection; Titu 3 remains in development. Battery power ratings were not disclosed, so responsible duration calculations are not possible.

Interpretation: the storage order is commercially relevant, but grid maturity remains the gating variable for the first project's monetisation.

Ford Otosan adds another industrial self-consumption signal.

Secondary reporting describes a 5.10 MW photovoltaic investment at Craiova with expected annual output of 5,531 MWh and full on-site consumption. Reported investment is RON 36.45 million, including RON 8.63 million of Modernisation Fund support.

Maturity discipline: the evidence located for this briefing supports an announced/investment project; it is not entered into the operating ledger as a commissioned plant.

04 / Market and system analysis / physical balance

The price signal softened. The noon-to-evening system reversal did not.

Retained Transelectrica observations are local-hour arithmetic means of every stored public reading in that hour. Missing hours are not interpolated. Exchange is positive for net import and negative for net export. [S01]

16 Sep 2026 / retained hourly solar and system exchange / MW
Solar generation and net exchange, 16 September 2026

Ink line = retained solar MW. Yellow line = exchange MW; values below zero mean net export and values above zero mean net import. These are operating observations, not MWh energy totals. [S01]

Solar is not creating one system condition; it is creating two.

At 12:00 on 16 Sep, retained production averaged 5,609 MW against 4,143 MW of consumption. Solar contributed 3,247 MW and Romania was exporting a net 1,466 MW. Seven hours later, consumption had increased to 6,620 MW, retained production had fallen to 4,677 MW, solar was only 33 MW and net imports reached 1,942 MW. This is the physical basis for valuing time-shifting capability even during a week in which daylight market prices recovered.

The pattern was not unique to 16 Sep. On 14 Sep, retained exchange moved from 2,079 MW of net export at 12:00 to roughly 2,000 MW of net import at 19:00—a 4,079 MW swing. On 15 Sep, net imports reached 2,415 MW at 19:00 while retained solar averaged only 26 MW. Individual hours should not be mistaken for annual economics, but repeated directional reversals are commercially relevant for storage, flexible industrial load, hydro scheduling and shaped PPAs.

The implication is narrower than “every battery will make money.” A large physical ramp creates an opportunity set, not an assured margin. Storage still faces round-trip loss, degradation, state-of-charge constraints, charge and discharge connection limits, network treatment, imbalance costs, auxiliary consumption, financing costs and competition from other flexible resources.

Show 16 Sep retained hourly solar and exchange series
Hour EESTSolar MWExchange MWBalance interpretation
00:000+1,399Net import
01:000+1,321Net import
02:000+1,319Net import
03:000+1,450Net import
04:000+1,359Net import
05:000+1,453Net import
06:000+1,618Net import
07:00141+1,446Net import
08:00947+582Net import
09:002,025−316Net export
10:002,721−610Net export
11:003,055−1,264Net export
12:003,247−1,466Net export
13:003,160−1,242Net export
14:002,972−955Net export
15:002,755−669Net export
16:002,274−124Net export
17:001,469+240Net import
18:00523+1,473Net import
19:0033+1,942Net import
20:000+1,782Net import
21:000+1,524Net import
22:000+1,249Net import
23:000+1,087Net import
05 / Market and system analysis / grid deliverability

The queue stopped getting bigger. The deeper layers got heavier.

ANRE's report published 15 Sep provides a 1 Aug 2026 status of renewable projects ≥1 MW. The important signal is stage migration, not the 113.5 GW headline in isolation. [S05]

Renewable connection maturity / approved maximum export / GW
Romanian renewable connection maturity funnel at 1 August 2026

Hover or focus a bar for project count, approved export capacity, share of the ATR layer and month-on-month movement. Source: ANRE status at 1 Aug 2026, published 15 Sep. [S05]

For investors, stage weighting is becoming more useful than pipeline counting.

Total approved export capacity across valid ATRs changed little between 1 Jul and 1 Aug, from approximately 113.65 GW to 113.51 GW. Yet connection-contract capacity increased to 59.79 GW, contract-plus-building-permit capacity to 36.33 GW, and the deepest reported layer—also holding an ANRE establishment authorisation—to 14.80 GW. The month-on-month increase at that deepest stage was 32.7%.

This does not mean 14.8 GW is certain to commission. ANRE's tables include operator-reported expected schedules that remain subject to construction, financing, equipment, connection works and other execution risks. The more mature layer is simply better evidence of commitment than an ATR alone. For valuation and competitive analysis, a maturity-weighted pipeline should therefore replace the binary “has ATR / does not have ATR” framing.

ANRE also reports that 182 of the 694 projects in the connection-contract-plus-building-permit layer, representing 12,149.27 MW of maximum approved export, are generation-with-storage or standalone-storage projects. That number must not be described as installed BESS MW or MWh. It is a connection-capacity measure associated with projects that include storage.

At the more mature contract-plus-building-permit-plus-establishment-authorisation stage, operator expectations indicate 104 projects and 4,256 MW targeted for commissioning during 2026. This is a schedule expectation, not a forecast that SolarIndustry.ro independently validates. It should be monitored for slippage rather than booked as inevitable capacity.

Contrary case

A deeper permission stack does not automatically imply faster national build-out. Large projects can advance administratively while still depending on grid works, equipment lead times, financing conditions and construction capacity. A maturity-weighted queue is therefore a better decision tool than headline ATR MW, but it is still not a substitute for project-level technical due diligence. The thesis should be downgraded if the 14.8 GW deepest layer stops converting into commissioning milestones or if expected connection dates repeatedly slip.

06 / Market and system analysis / storage value

This week's batteries were not one market product.

Nameplate duration varied from two hours to almost seven hours among projects with both power and energy disclosed. Other procurement announcements disclosed MWh but not MW and therefore cannot support a duration calculation.

Hidroelectrica / Porțile de Fier II
6.79 h

64 MW / 434.76 MWh. Contract awarded. Ratio is a nameplate energy-to-power calculation, not guaranteed usable dispatch duration. [S06]

OMV Petrom / Ișalnița
2.00 h

20 MW / 40 MWh. EPC scope awarded to Simtel; construction estimated around seven months. [S07]

Nofar / Iepurești + Ghimpați
3.07 h

280 MW / 860 MWh planned co-location. Company-originated project disclosure; storage not treated as commissioned. [S12]

Nofar / Valter + Corbii Mari
1.09 GWh

Usable energy contracted under binding supply agreements. Battery MW was not disclosed in the filing; duration is therefore unknown. [S13]

Duration should follow the revenue stack and physical constraint.

A 6.79-hour nameplate energy-to-power ratio attached to Hidroelectrica's portfolio is a different proposition from OMV Petrom's two-hour co-located Ișalnița system. Nofar's planned 280 MW / 860 MWh configuration sits between them at 3.07 hours. These designs should not be ranked by duration alone. A longer system carries more cells, more capital and potentially more degradation exposure, but can bridge a longer scarcity window or participate differently alongside dispatchable hydro. A shorter asset may cycle more intensely around solar-to-evening spreads.

The relevant commercial model is therefore not “RON/MWh spread × battery MWh”. A proper gross-to-net bridge includes charge price, discharge price, round-trip efficiency, usable state-of-charge window, cycle and calendar degradation, augmentation, network charges, balancing exposure, auxiliary consumption, availability, financing, warranty limits and the revenue from ancillary or balancing services where accessible.

The Nofar supply agreements provide another reminder about stock-versus-flow discipline. The 1.09 GWh disclosure covers equipment to be delivered beginning in 2027. It is a procurement commitment, not current national operating storage. Likewise, LONGi's 50 MWh agreement with Enexus includes one PV project awaiting grid connection and another still in development. Announced MWh should not be added to operating MWh without a maturity bridge. [S14]

OMV Petrom / Ișalnița
2.00 h
Nofar / Iepurești + Ghimpați
3.07 h
Hidroelectrica / Porțile de Fier II
6.79 h
Nofar / Valter + Corbii Mari
MW not disclosed
LONGi / Enexus Titu
MW not disclosed
07 / Project maturity ledger

A commissioning headline, a testing asset and a development project are not comparable megawatts.

This ledger deliberately resists adding capacities across maturity classes. The distinction matters for supply forecasts, financing, EPC backlog and grid-deliverability analysis.

Project / owner Disclosed scale Evidence-backed status at cut-off Decision relevance
Iepurești + Ghimpați / Nofar 169.4 MWp + 146 MWp solar Company-announced commercial operation Operating-generation supply signal; planned 280 MW / 860 MWh storage remains a separate future layer. [S12]
Ariceștii Rahtivani / NEPI Rockcastle 48.825 MW max export reported Testing Closer to commercial operation than development, but not classified here as established COD. [S16]
Titu 1 / Enexus 20 MWp PV + 15 MWh BESS PV built / awaiting grid connection Physical construction alone does not create deliverable market output. [S14]
Titu 3 / Enexus 35 MW PV + 35 MWh BESS Development Should remain in development pipeline rather than near-term operating supply. [S14]
Dacia / Mioveni 8.5 MW / 9,094 MWh per year expected Launched / planned Industrial self-consumption model; expected to cover roughly 8% of site demand. [S10]
Ford Otosan / Craiova 5.10 MW / 5,531 MWh per year expected Announced investment Another self-consumption signal; not entered into operating capacity from evidence located at cut-off. [S15]
Nădab HV infrastructure / PPC cluster >600 MW PV cluster supported by connection works Connection infrastructure in execution progression Illustrates how grid works become a major project workstream rather than a final administrative step. [S17]
The most valuable project status is increasingly not “announced MW” but MW with a credible route through connection, construction, commissioning and revenue.

This is also why the market can simultaneously look oversupplied on paper and constrained in practice. Development pipelines react quickly to high power prices, funding and falling equipment costs. Transmission assets, substations, permits, land interfaces, long-lead transformers and bankable offtake do not scale at the same speed. A market-maturity analysis that ignores those bottlenecks systematically overstates near-term competitive supply.

08 / Demand, self-consumption and public capital

The response to cheap solar hours is starting to appear on the demand side.

Industrial self-consumption, time-of-use retail pricing and subsidy structures can all increase the value of consuming or storing electricity when photovoltaic output is abundant.

Public entities / AFIR
€500m

Solar with integrated storage for self-consumption.

Up to €10 million per beneficiary and, under the published scheme, up to 100% of eligible cost subject to programme ceilings. Application start: 28 Sep 2026. [S08]

Public entities / AFIR
€150m

Standalone or additional storage line.

Support ceiling up to €200,000/MWh of installed storage and €10 million per beneficiary. The cost ceiling gives suppliers a concrete procurement boundary. [S08]

Household prosumers / AFM
RON 400m

Casa Verde Baterii moves from consultation to final guide.

Minimum 10 kWh, maximum aid RON 15,000 and 75% of project value, with 5,000-cycle minimum requirement. Ranking considers own contribution and storage capacity. [S09]

Self-consumption changes the revenue question.

Dacia's planned Mioveni system and Ford Otosan's reported Craiova investment are economically different from a merchant utility-scale plant. Where daytime industrial load can absorb output behind the meter, the relevant comparison is avoided delivered electricity cost and on-site consumption coincidence—not only the PZU solar-hour clearing price. That can reduce exposure to merchant cannibalisation, although project economics still depend on grid tariffs, taxes, financing, operating profile and the actual fraction of generation consumed on site.

PPC's Ore Smart PRO product points in the same direction from the supplier side. The tariff's discounted weekday window from 11:00 to 14:59 during March–October explicitly encourages consumption during high-PV periods. A mature solar market does not solve oversupply only by curtailing generators or adding batteries; it can also move demand into the hours in which energy is abundant.

This creates a second-order commercial opportunity for energy-management systems, thermal storage, EV fleet charging, process scheduling, smart metering and automated controls. The equipment sale alone is not the value proposition. The value is the customer's ability to change net load in response to time-dependent electricity economics.

09 / Forward view / 17–23 Sep 2026

The next test is whether daylight relief can persist without erasing the evening premium.

A factual forward anchor was already available by the research cut-off: 17 Sep PZU base 890.53 RON/MWh and unweighted 08:00–17:00 proxy 496.96 RON/MWh, a ratio of 55.8% and a 44.2% daylight discount. That delivery-day result is observed market evidence, not part of the forecast scenario. [S01]

Base case

Daylight remains discounted, but not uniformly distressed.

The base case assumes normal September demand, continued high installed photovoltaic availability, no major transmission disruption and enough conventional/import availability to cover the evening ramp. Under that configuration, solar-rich days should continue to produce lower midday pricing than evening pricing, but the week need not reproduce the negative intervals seen on 6 Sep. Operationally, noon export / evening import reversals remain more important than the sign of any single PT15 price.

Upside

Higher daytime demand or lower PV output lifts capture conditions.

Cloudier weather, stronger industrial consumption, greater export capability or lower coincident wind/hydro output could keep solar-hour prices closer to the daily base. A sustained proxy/base ratio above roughly 70% would weaken the immediate cannibalisation signal, particularly if accompanied by fewer sub-100 RON/MWh intervals. It would not remove the case for storage where evening system value remains high.

Risk case

Clear solar conditions recreate deep midday discount while evening imports stay elevated.

Low daytime demand combined with high photovoltaic and other renewable output could push the 08:00–17:00 proxy back below 40–50% of base. If the same days also require >1.5 GW of imports during the evening ramp, the spread between daytime energy abundance and post-solar firmness would widen again. That configuration would strengthen—but still not itself quantify—the gross value proposition for flexible load and storage.

Watch / price shape
>70%

Sustained daylight-proxy/base ratio above this level would indicate materially healthier solar-hour pricing than the prior review.

Watch / downside trigger
<40%

A return below this level would re-establish a severe daylight discount. It is an editorial monitoring threshold, not a market rule.

Watch / evening balance
1.5 GW+

Repeated 19:00–22:00 net-import readings above this level alongside midday export would reinforce the physical flexibility case.

Watch / execution
28 Sep

AFIR application opening is the next concrete procurement milestone for €650 million of public-sector solar and storage support. [S08]

10 / Implications by audience

What should change in the decision process now.

These are operating and underwriting implications derived from the evidence above. They are not securities, trading or investment recommendations.

Utility-scale developers / IPPs

Make the export envelope an investment-committee gate.

Stop treating grid connection as a legal appendix to a yield model. Before final EPC commitment, require a node-specific view of export limits, reinforcement scope, connection works, COD dependencies and expected curtailment exposure. A high-P50 project with a weak or late export path can be economically inferior to a smaller project with mature deliverability.

BESS owners / optimisers

Underwrite gross-to-net value, not headline spread.

Use interval-level charging and discharging assumptions with explicit efficiency, degradation, cycling limits, SoC reserve, network treatment, imbalance cost and availability. Model merchant arbitrage separately from balancing and ancillary revenue. Apply saturation sensitivity: as BESS deployment increases, the spread a battery is designed to monetise can compress.

Investors / lenders

Weight the pipeline by maturity and outside-the-fence work.

The 113.5 GW ATR headline is not a useful supply forecast by itself. Give more weight to the 59.8 GW connection-contract layer, the 36.3 GW contract-plus-building-permit layer and especially the 14.8 GW deepest tracked permission layer—then still test substation, line, financing and construction dependencies project by project.

EPCs / OEMs / storage suppliers

Sell an operating design, not generic MWh.

This week's disclosed configurations range from 2.0 to 6.79 nameplate hours, with other projects withholding battery MW entirely. Commercial proposals should tie duration, inverter sizing, warranty throughput, thermal management, augmentation and controls to a specified revenue stack. A “standard Romanian battery” is not supported by the evidence.

C&I energy buyers

Prioritise load coincidence before oversizing export.

Dacia, Ford and PPC's time-of-use product all point toward the same operating logic. Where processes can run in solar-rich hours, shape demand around generation before assuming surplus export has equal value. For flexible sites, compare PV-only, PV-plus-load-shifting and PV-plus-storage configurations on avoided delivered cost rather than module yield alone.

Public entities / installers

Design to the load profile, not to the subsidy ceiling.

AFIR's €200,000/MWh storage ceiling and maximum €10 million beneficiary support provide procurement boundaries, not optimal system sizes. Hospitals, universities, municipalities and other entities should model hourly load, critical loads, import tariffs, outage objectives, solar production and cycling requirements before specifying storage capacity.

What would change this position?

The case for increasingly explicit flexibility and grid underwriting would weaken if several signals changed together: daylight prices remained close to base for a sustained period; midday net export ceased to coincide with large evening import ramps; mature connection-stage projects converted rapidly without reinforcement bottlenecks; or storage competition compressed spreads and ancillary-service value enough to make incremental BESS uneconomic after losses and degradation. None of those conditions can be established from one week, so the correct operating stance is monitoring with explicit thresholds rather than a permanent structural forecast.

11 / Source register and method

Every major conclusion has an evidence boundary.

Primary public and issuer sources were prioritised. Secondary reporting is used only where a material current-stage fact was not located in a primary publication and is labelled accordingly.

Observed operational evidence

SolarIndustry.ro retains public Transelectrica observations and calculates local-hour arithmetic means from every stored reading in that hour. Empty hours remain absent; they are not interpolated. Positive exchange means net import into Romania; negative exchange means net export.

The 16 Sep daily values in this briefing are frozen to the report's research cut-off. The live history page is a mutable retained dataset and can later contain additional reconciled observations; this report does not silently update its historical calculations after publication. [S01]

Price method

PZU weekly base and daylight figures are arithmetic means of seven retained daily references for 10–16 Sep. They are not volume weighted. The 08:00–17:00 metric is an unweighted price-shape proxy and must not be described as national solar capture price.

A genuine capture-price calculation requires temporally compatible generation and price series at the relevant settlement granularity. Plant-level capture also requires plant production, curtailment and contractual information not contained in the public aggregate evidence used here.

Project maturity method

Commissioned, testing, under-construction, contracted, awarded and development-stage projects are kept distinct. Equipment supply agreements are not added to operating stock. Approved export MW associated with storage projects in ANRE reporting is not re-labelled as BESS installed MW or MWh.

Company-originated claims are acceptable evidence for a company's disclosed project status, contract or technical specification but are not treated as independent proof of market leadership or comparative performance.

Continuity and non-repetition

The 9 Sep briefing and the 26 Aug briefing were reviewed before writing this issue. Previously established themes—including the general value of flexibility and prior national storage-stock references—are not repeated as new findings. This issue focuses on the change in price shape, new ANRE maturity evidence and week-specific execution milestones. [S03] [S04]

Known limitations

No public dataset used here provides a complete plant-level national capture-price series, verified curtailment by PV asset, battery gross-to-net revenue stack, project-specific network constraints or fully harmonised national COD registry at the same timestamp.

Weather, intraday, balancing and ancillary-service markets can materially affect realised economics but are not converted into unsupported revenue estimates. No battery margin is inferred from a PZU price spread alone.

Evidence rejected or downgraded

News items supplied as research leads were not automatically accepted as facts. Where a primary source contradicted a headline's maturity implication, the project was reclassified. Where a claim could not be sufficiently verified or was not material to solar, storage, grid delivery or demand shape, it was not promoted into the decision narrative.

Numerical precision is retained only where it comes directly from a source or a reproducible calculation. Forecast probabilities are omitted because the available evidence does not support calibrated probabilities for the one-week scenarios.

ID Organisation / source Use in briefing Evidence class Link
S01 SolarIndustry.ro Data History Retained Transelectrica observations, daily system summary and retained OPCOM/PZU references; method and evidence boundary. Primary-source retention / internal calculation layer Open data history
S02 OPCOM Official Romanian day-ahead market reference context. Primary authoritative Open OPCOM
S03 SolarIndustry.ro · week ended 9 Sep Prior-week price-shape baseline and continuity check. Prior original research Read prior briefing
S04 SolarIndustry.ro · 26 Aug issue Longer continuity check requested for non-repetition. Prior original research Read 26 Aug briefing
S05 ANRE Renewable ≥1 MW grid-connection pipeline and maturity at 1 Aug 2026; published 15 Sep. Primary authoritative / regulator Open ANRE report
S06 Hidroelectrica / Bucharest Stock Exchange Porțile de Fier II 64 MW / 434.76 MWh BESS contract, value and financing. Primary issuer disclosure Open BVB disclosure
S07 OMV Petrom Ișalnița 20 MW / 40 MWh BESS and solar-project context. Primary issuer disclosure Open OMV Petrom release
S08 AFIR €500 million public-sector solar-plus-storage line and €150 million storage line, ceilings and opening date. Primary public authority Open AFIR conditions
S09 Ministry of Environment Final Casa Verde Baterii guide: budget, minimum capacity, cost standard, aid cap, cycles and scoring. Primary public authority Open ministry release
S10 Dacia Mioveni 8.5 MW self-consumption project, expected output, share of factory demand and funding. Primary company disclosure Open Dacia release
S11 PPC Energie Ore Smart PRO small-business time-of-use product and solar-rich discount window. Primary company disclosure Open PPC release
S12 Nofar Energy disclosure reproduced by The Diplomat Iepurești and Ghimpați capacities, company-announced commercial operation and planned 280 MW / 860 MWh storage. Company-originated / secondary publication Open project release
S13 Nofar Energy / Tel Aviv Stock Exchange filing 650 MWh + 440 MWh usable-storage supply agreements, consideration and expected delivery timing. Primary issuer filing Open issuer PDF
S14 LONGi Enexus 50 MWh BESS agreement; Titu 1 and Titu 3 project status. Vendor / commercial self-report Open LONGi release
S15 Economica / Ford Otosan project reporting Craiova 5.10 MW self-consumption investment, expected generation and reported funding. Secondary Open report
S16 Profit.ro / NEPI Rockcastle project reporting Ariceștii Rahtivani testing-stage status and reported maximum export capacity. Secondary Open report
S17 GEK TERNA annual reporting Nădab high-voltage connection package scope and historical contractor status. Primary corporate reporting Open annual-report PDF
S18 Scatec Romanian portfolio reference: Dobrun/Sadova solar, Urleasca wind and Buciumi storage; used as contextual portfolio verification rather than a new weekly milestone. Primary company reference Open Romania portfolio
S19 Economica / current Nădab contract reporting Current visibility on approximately €144.6 million PPC-related high-voltage infrastructure contract. Secondary, cross-checked to primary history Open report